Media Releases

Affordable housing for North-West NGOs

North West NGOs

  • 58 houses for 29 NGOs in eight Pilbara and Kimberley communities
  • $35million from Royalties for Regions
Staff of non-government organisations (NGOs) delivering critical services in the Pilbara and Kimberley will benefit from 58 houses funded by the State Government.

Regional Development Minister Brendon Grylls said $35million in Royalties for Regions funding had delivered affordable housing to 29 NGOs in Karratha, Newman, South Hedland, Kununurra, Derby, Roebourne, Halls Creek and Broome.

“The Government provided this funding as a strategic intervention to ensure the delivery of NGO services in the North-West of the State is not compromised due to a lack of affordable housing,” Mr Grylls said.

“The allocation committee aimed to provide housing to a wide range of organisations and the excellent outcome is that 58 properties have been allocated to 29 NGOs in eight towns.

“The program will also support the social wellbeing and sustainability of these regional communities by keeping vital services in these towns.”

Housing Minister Troy Buswell said affordability was a key issue in the North-West and this initiative would see the Government lease properties to NGOs at a discounted rate.

“Suitable housing is critical to ensure community services such as education; health; drug and alcohol counselling; Aboriginal community health care; and legal services can continue to operate,” Mr Buswell said.

“These 58 houses will provide employees of NGOs delivering these critical State Government-funded services in the North-West with much-needed affordable rental options.

“We recognise that affordability is an issue across the State, and have introduced a number of initiatives as part of the State Affordable Housing Strategy launched earlier this year.

NGO staff will move into most of the properties this month, with the remainder to be occupied early in 2012.
Fact File
  • The 58 NGO properties are located at:  Broome (eight); Derby (six); Halls Creek (six); Kununurra (six); Karratha (nine); Roebourne (eight); Newman (one); and South Hedland (14)
  • Department of Housing worked in partnership with the Western Australian Council of Social Service (WACOSS) to identify the housing needs of NGO employees
  • Applications were assessed by an independent panel chaired by the Department of Housing with members from the Pilbara and Kimberley development commissions and Winthrop Professor Paul Flatau from UWA’s Centre for Economic Impact

Regional Development Minister’s office - 9213 7000

Housing Minister’s office - 9213 6900

Media Releases

Monday, 09 May 2016
Friday, 18 March 2016
Friday, 18 March 2016

View all Media Releases

​​Information for the Media

​Information for the Media

Media Enquiries

Tel: (08) 6277 5323

Contact Us