Department tops Premier's Awards

Premiers award winners 2014

Housing Minister Bill Marmion and Director General Grahame Searle with the Department's awards

​The Premier's Awards are a reason for a double celebration this year as the Department has not only won in the Developing the Economy category for the Shared Equity EOI Program, but has taken home the overall award as well.
 The winners were announced by the Premier last night at a special ceremony. Director General Grahame Searle accepted the awards on the Department's behalf.
"Winning in the Developing the Economy category and the overall award is being recognised for excellence at the highest level, and it is something in which we can all take great pride on our journey to becoming a world class housing agency," Grahame said.
"I want to thank all staff that have worked on the Shared Equity EOI Program, and the courage, faith and belief that was shown in making this program such a success. What we have achieved would not have been possible without the great team work across the Department, and the hard work and commitment of all involved.
"The Department cannot take on the affordable housing challenge alone, and our partnerships play a big role in our efforts. I would like to acknowledge the strong support from our private sector partners that helped us get the Program up and running and delivered."
The innovative Shared Equity EOI Program is designed to enable low income West Australians, who have been priced out of the market, to buy their own home. It is delivered at no cost to the government and has helped more than 700 low income households achieve home ownership. The Program supported thousands of jobs in the building and construction industry following the global financial crisis and generated millions of dollars of economic activity.
The Kalgoorlie Indigenous Visitors Accommodation Project was also a finalist in the Improving Aboriginal Outcomes category this year.
As the overall winner, the Department can expect a visit from the Premier following the Awards ceremony.
This year, 50 projects were submitted in seven categories from the public sector and private agencies, including public sector departments, statutory authorities, local governments, hospitals and regional offices.
The Premier's Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management were instituted in 1996 and aim to educate, stimulate and inspire agencies, local government authorities and universities to strive for excellence in the delivery of their services to the community. As well as recognising and celebrating world-class achievements by those involved in the delivery of public services, the awards play an important role in motivating agencies to become more innovative in meeting the community's needs.

Media Releases

Monday, 09 May 2016
Friday, 18 March 2016
Friday, 18 March 2016

View all Media Releases

​​Information for the Media

​Information for the Media

Media Enquiries

Tel: (08) 6277 5323

Contact Us